2017-2020 African Province Leadership Announced

21 June 2017

Recently the Society of the Holy Child Jesus appointed a new African Province Leadership Team.

Philomena Aidoo, SHCJ, was reappointed as the Leader of the Society’s African Province. Her team members will include Martha Attakruh, SHCJ, (reappointment), Justina Chikezie, SHCJ, Helen Ebede, SHCJ, Oyidu Okwori, SHCJ, and Antoinette Opara, SHCJ (reappointment).

Installation of the new Province Leadership Team will be in August. The PLT will lead the Sisters in Nigeria, Ghana, Chad and Kenya.

L to R: Sisters Justina Chikezie, Antoinette Opara, Oyidu Okwori, Philomena Aidoo, Helen Ebede, and Martha Attakruh.

Read below to learn more about each Sister.

Philomena Aidoo, SHCJ

Sr. Philomena Aidoo was the Province Leader from August 2014 – 2017. She has been re-appointed as the Province Leader from August 2017-2020. She lives in Keffi Street, Ikoyi, Lagos, with eight SHCJ who work in different ministries. It has been a grace-filled period for her.

Martha Attakruh, SHCJ

Sr. Martha Attakruh, from Western Region of Ghana, entered the Society in January 1988 and made her first profession in October 1990. She made her perpetual profession in August 1997 and was the Director of Candidates from 2009-2015. She was a member of the Province Leadership Team from August 2014 to 2017 and has been re-appointed from August 2017 to 2020. She moved to Accra community in 2015 and in December 2016, she was appointed as African Sisters Education Collaborative (ASEC) Programs Coordinator for Ghana. Hence, she is presently a staff of ASEC in addition to her work as a PLT member.

Justina Izukanachi Chikezie, SHCJ

Sr. Justina Chikezie graduated from University of Nigeria Nsukka, prior to her entry into the Society of the Holy Child Jesus. She entered the Society in 1993 and was professed in 1996. Her first mission was to the Republic of Chad, in Central Africa where she found herself working at the women centre which she was a founding member to, as a novice in 1995.

She left Chad for Loyola Jesuit College, Abuja in 1999 where she taught French language in addition to other responsibilities for six years. She made her final profession in the Society in 2002. The end of this ministry saw Tina at the University of Bristol in England where she graduated with Masters in Education Management and Policy Studies.

Tina was then missioned to represent the African Province in an Inter-provincial community in Mayfield, England where she was involved in pastoral ministry at St. Leonard’s-Mayfield school, Mayfield, England for five years. Within this period, Tina also worked with Catholic Agency for Overseas Development in an international programme CAFOD collaborates with the European Province of the Society, involving young people.

She is currently a Vice Principal at the Loyola Jesuit College, Abuja.

Helen Nkiruka Ebede, SHCJ

Sr. Helen Ebede is from Agulu in Anambra State, Nigeria. She professed her first Vows in July 2004 and her perpetual Vows in August 2009. She holds a Master of Technology degree in Physics Electronics and is currently a Physics lecturer in Federal College of Education (Technical) in Umunze, Anambra State.

Oyidu Celestina Okwori, SHCJ

Sr. Oyidu Okwori, from Benue State, Nigeria, was professed in 1998. She graduated from the Catholic University of Eastern Africa, Nairobi, Kenya in 2010. She has just completed her postgraduate studies at the Middlessex University, London. She lives in Keffi Street and is presently the Project Finance Person in the Province.

Antoinette Nneka Opara, SHCJ

Sr. Antoinette Nneka Opara professed in 1996 and she is working in Education related ministries. Prior to her appointment as a member of the Province Leadership Team (2014-2017), she was the founding Principal of Our Lady of Nigeria Secondary School, Oghara, Delta State, Nigeria. She later became the founding Principal of Holy Child College, Asa, Otukpo, Benue State. In April, 2017, she was appointed the Administrator of Holy Child College, Obalende, Lagos. She is re-appointed as a member of the PLT (2017-2020).

Comments are closed.